POST-16 OPPORTUNITIES FOR 2020/21

CORE MATHS

These Work Groups give teachers opportunities - through collaboration and experimentation - to develop improved teaching approaches that support the open-ended problem-solving skills. Core Maths students need, and share these with departmental colleagues. Participant departments will support the role of Core Maths in promoting contextualised problem-solving and links to teaching in other subject areas. This project involves a direct working partnership between the Maths Hubs Network and the Advanced Mathematics Support Programme (AMSP).

Work Group Dates:

Session 1: Tuesday 20th October

Session 2: Tuesday 1st December

Session 3: Tuesday 19th January

Session 4: Tuesday 23rd February

Session 5: Tuesday 23rd March

Session 6: Tuesday 4th May                                 

All sessions will be between 16:30 - 17:30 via Zoom, however depending on Government guidelines, we may be able to offer some face to face sessions in the Spring and Summer Term.

Please note that you must attend all sessions.

DEVELOPING A-LEVEL PEDAGOGY

This project provides national support for the effective development of pedagogy in the teaching of A level Mathematics to enhance the quality of teaching and the conceptual understanding of students. It's aim is to develop and sustain regional communities of practice involving collaboration between teachers. The focus is on developing pedagogy in A level Maths teaching, and developing participants as leaders of A level teaching professional development in their own school or college.

This project involves a direct working partnership between the Maths Hubs Network and the Advanced Mathematics Support Programme.

Work Group Dates:

Session 1: Thursday 7th January 

Session 2: Thursday 4th February 

Session 3: Thursday 25th February 

Session 4: Thursday 25th March 

Session 5: Thursday 22nd April

Session 6: Thursday 8th July

All sessions will be between 15:00 - 17:00 via Zoom, however depending on Government guidelines, we may be able to offer some face to face sessions in the Spring and Summer Term.

Although these sessions have already started the group is acting as a network so you can still join the next sessions.

Please note that you must attend all sessions.