The Solent Maths Hub is one of a network of 40 Maths Hubs in England, working together within the Maths Hubs Programme, which began in 2014. The programme is funded by the Department of Education (DfE) and coordinated by the National Centre for Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics (NCETM). Maths Hubs are a structure, within a school-led system, for promoting and connecting different schools and organisations that aim to improve the teaching and learning of mathematics through collaborative CPD. Maths Hubs harness all maths leadership and expertise within an area to develop and spread excellent practice, for the benefit of all pupils and students. 

The lead school for the Solent Maths Hub is the Mary Rose Academy. However, the team are based at Trafalgar School.


As a Maths Hub we cover the following geographical region:

  • Hampshire

  • Southampton

  • Isle of Wight

  • Portsmouth